Power of Swastik


Power of Swastik

Religious symbols are important in all faiths across the world. These religious symbols are seen to be auspicious, with each emblem having its own energy. These symbols serve as a conduit for the strengthening of human-Supreme ties. There are several sacraments in Hinduism, including the Om, Shiva Lingam, Tilaka, Vibhuti, Swastika, Rudraksha, Sri Chakra Yantra, and the Lotus, among others. The ‘Swastika' is one of the most famous and auspicious symbols that has been utilised widely in all Hindu ceremonies since ancient times. The Hindu Swastika emblem has one distinguishing characteristic that sets it apart.This sign looks to be the same no matter which way you look at it. It is for this reason that it is regarded as the sun's emblem. It is also thought to be Lord Vishnu's hundred and eighth (108th) sign.

The way the sun rises every morning and sets every evening, according to Hindu mythology, is analogous to how the Swastika sign, which is a symbol of infinity, never loses its shape. The Swastika is a sign that denotes both continuous growth and the ability to remain unchanging.



The term 'Swastika' is derived from the Sanskrit word'svastika,' which means 'It is,' 'Good Existence,' 'Good Luck,' and 'Well Being.' According to the Sanskrit language, Swastika signifies pure and auspicious. As a result, a person who uses this symbol in daily puja ceremonies or worships it is considered to bring good luck, happiness, and optimism to them. Swastika's emblem resembles a cross, but it has four arms that bend at a right angle.

The Swastika's four branches are supposed to reflect the fourfold principles of divinity, which are as follows:

1.   The four-faced Lord Brahma is credited with disseminating sacred wisdom in all four directions.

2.   The Rig Veda, Sama Veda, Yajur Veda, and Atharva Veda are the four Vedas.

3.   Dharma (holy duty or righteousness), Artha (get riches), Kama (fulfil desires), and Moksha (liberation) are the four Purusharthas (liberation from cycles of birth and death).

4.   Brahmacharya (student life), Grihastha (householder life), Vanaprastha (retired life), and Sannyasa (retired life) are the four stages of existence (life of renunciation).

5.   Brahman, Kshatriya, Vaishya, and Shudra are the four Varnas.

6.   The Swastika's four arms also represent the four cardinal directions: north, south, east, and west. The Swastika's centre point is thought to symbolise Lord Vishnu's navel, from whence Lord Brahma descended.


Use In Puja Rituals

The Swastika sign is usually painted on the wall, on the Kalash (pot), on the floor where the puja is performed, and on the human vessel with the right-hand ring finger and Kumkum paste or other sacred powders. Before the puja begins, the Swastika emblem is drawn. Some individuals draw dots between the swastika's arms, while others do not. This sign is also fashioned into lockets and bracelets, with the notion that wearing it will bring good fortune to the wearer.

The meaning of this sign, as well as its most common application, are exclusively found in Hinduism. Every puja ceremony in a Hindu home includes this fortunate sign. As previously said, it is primarily composed of sindoor or kumkum. The swastika emblem is said to bring strength and Shakti into the home. One of the most prominent characteristics of Indian culture and civilisation is this emblem, which represents life on Earth.


Importance Of Swastik in Vaastu Shastra

According to Vastu Shastra, the swastika sign is generally painted before beginning any religious rite and has a variety of beneficial benefits. It protects the home from bad energy and promotes tranquilly. It's one of several Swastik advantages. This auspicious sign aids you in achieving great outcomes in whatever ceremony you are about to conduct.


Meaning of Swastik

Mr. P.R. Sarkar, a Sanskrit expert, stated in 1979 that the deeper meaning of the word Swastika is "Permanent Victory." He went on to say that depending on how the Swastika is designed, it may have both good and bad implications. According to Hinduism, the swastika with four arms bending at a right angle represents Vishnu and the Sun, whereas the arms bending in a left angle represent Kali and Magic.


Where did the Swastika originate?

According to certain archaeological records, the Swastika symbol goes back to about 3000 BCE during the Indus Valley Civilization. This is the approximate age of the Swastika symbol. The significance of the Swastik symbol has been referenced in several ancient literature.


What does the Swastika represent?

The Swastika also represents global happiness, with the four arms bending at a right angle to represent the never-ending cycle of birth. The Sun God, who is the universe's ultimate source of light, heat, and energy, is represented by a circle drawn around the Swastika.


How to make Swastik at home?

1.   Swastik sign is made using the kumkum paste, hence the first step is to make three 3x3 dots on surface where symbol will be painted.

2.   Begin by drawing a line from the top row's right corner dot to the centre dot in the same row.

3.   Bring the line all the way down to the centre dot. Connect the middle dot in the second row with the right dot in the same row with a horizontal line.

4.   Draw it down even farther to link it to the right dot in the bottom row.

5.   Now draw a vertical line from the top row's left dot to the middle row's left dot.

6.   Draw a horizontal line from the left dot in the middle row to the middle dot in the bottom row, then link it to the left dot in the same row with a horizontal line.


Where to place Swastik on the main door?

The Swastik symbol might be drawn at your home's door or at your place of worship. It is said to bring good fortune and is a sign of auspiciousness. The Swastika symbol's strength comes from its balance and simplicity. As a result, it is pulled during Hindu holy rites and celebrations.


Tags/Category : - Power of Swastik,Swastik,Swastik Symbol
You may also like : -
Comments : -